Important Dates

As we approach the end of term and another year, I would like to thank you for your unwavering support. I would also like to keep you informed of some key dates and events coming up:

Monday 30 June: Staff training, the academy is closed for students.

Monday 7 July – Friday 11 July: Activities Week/Work Experience

Year 10 students will be involved in work experience.
Year 7, 8 and 9 students will be involved in activities in mixed age house colours, as long as they have their planner and £1 donation per family to charity for non-uniform. The donation of £1 will cover the two days.

On Monday 7 July students will be dismissed at 3.10pm.

Wednesday 9 July and Thursday 10 July will be normal academy days for Years 7, 8 and 9.

Friday 11 July, most of Years 7, 8 and 9 students will be involved in the trip to Drayton Manor, separate details sent out. Students remaining in the academy will be in full uniform and follow a normal day.

Monday 14 July: Sports Day at Hingleys

Weather permitting, we will be holding Sports Day at Hingleys from 12 midday until 3.10pm. Students will need to be in full uniform and bring their sports kit if they are competing. Students will be taking their normal lessons period 1 and 2. It would be helpful if students who purchase a school lunch bring a packed lunch, but it is not a necessity as food will be provided on the site. Students will be dismissed at 3.10pm from Hingleys. If the weather is as good as last year please send your child with a hat and sun cream.

Tuesday 15 July: Reserve Sports Day in case of inclement weather.

Friday 18 July: End of Term : Students will be dismissed at 12 midday after a celebration event.

Details of the return to the academy in September are as follows:

Monday 1 September: Academy closed to students, staff training day.

Tuesday 2 September: Academy opens at 8.30am for Year 7 and Year 12 only.

Wednesday 3 September: Academy opens at 8.30am for Year 7 and Year 12 only.

Thursday 4 September: Academy opens for all students at 8.30am.

Friday 5 September: Normal academy day.

The full academy calendar for 2014/15 will appear shortly on the academy website. We are working with a group of parents to improve communication, details will be circulated soon. Please follow us on our website, Facebook page and on Twitter to keep abreast of the most current information.

With best wishes,

Andrew Burns, Principal

Site content © Ormiston Forge Academy 2012-2014.
Ormiston Forge Academy, Wrights Lane, Cradley Heath, West Midlands, B64 6QU. Tel: 01384 566 598.